Spelling Bee sponsors Mrs. Berg, Mrs. Bobki and Mrs. Hawkins worked together this year to have a virtual school spelling bee at each middle school.
Trail Ridge Middle School had one round of action with fifth grader De’Angelo Davis winning. Wheatridge Middle School eighth grader Ashton Lang won and at Prairie Ridge seventh grader Elayna Armato won. Both WMS and PRMS had two rounds of spelling due to a tie.
There were just over 100 participants in the three schools. Winners will advance to the Johnson County Spelling Bee. This next level of competition will take place on Jan, 27- 28 with the format to be determined.
Elementary school spelling bee winners will represent their schools in the upcoming Johnson County spelling bee.
Winners are:
Edgerton Elementary -Makynzie Eggleston (Runner Up Faith Boland)
Gardner Elementary -School Spelling Bee Scheduled for January 14
Grand Star Elementary -Amelia Berger(Runner Up Abigail Croos)
Madison Elementary -Connor Haskins(Runner Up Xander Grimm)
Moonlight Elementary -MacKenzie Greenwald (Runner Up Pacey Titsworth)
Nike Elementary -Preston Colston(Runner Up Ragan Oxley)
Sunflower Elementary -Clayton Plahn(Runner Up -Bella Garcia-Irwin)