Congratulations to Sarah VanDeBerghe, Communications Teacher at PRMS, who has been selected as the USD 231 Secondary Teacher of the Year.
VanDeBerghe has taught in the Gardner Edgerton School District for the past nine years.  She is/has been a communications teacher at Pioneer Ridge Middle School for the past six years.  Prior to this, she taught three years as a fifth grade teacher, also at PRMS.

Sarah VanDeBerghe

In an effort to promote acceptance for all students in and around the school community, VanDeBerghe has led building-wide efforts such as ‘Walk the Track for Autism’ (2017) and ‘Step Up for Down Syndrome’ (2018).  She also serves as district trainer for Nonviolent Crisis Intervention (CPI).
Her students are her passion, and she is proud to represent the district as Secondary Teacher of the Year.
VanDeBerghe will now move to the state level and participate in the KTOY selection process.  The KTOY Program recognizes a Regional Finalist for each of the eight (8) regions.  From the eight Representatives, a Kansas Teacher of the Year is selected.  As a team, these designees are provided professional learning opportunities, make visits to school districts around the state, advocate for education at the state level, and represent teachers as a whole across Kansas.  The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year Program.  For additional information about the state program visit