The Arts Council of Johnson County (ACJC) announced that 101 finalists have been nominated for the 2019 Shooting Stars Awards.
GEHS students included as nominees are: Breanna Shelton nominated by Jeff Lady, Jordan Proctor nominated by Brian Scott, Logan Peralez nominated by Logan Peralez, Kara Groshong nominated by Barb McCormick, Long Vo ominated by Toni Britt, Riley Buck nominated by Kelli Baker, Katherine Long nominated by Will Biggs.
“This special recognition program was created in 1997 by former ACJC chairman Bob Endres,” said Sarah VanLanduyt, ACJC executive director. “Bob’s vision was to create a program that celebrated young Johnson County artists for their artistic excellence in high school. Only the best of the best high school artists are chosen to participate in the Shooting Stars Program.”
The Shooting Stars program promotes the positive impact arts education has on students by honoring student achievement in the literary, performing and visual arts, providing students with resources to help them achieve their creative career goals, awarding scholarships for college and supporting teachers with honorariums. Shooting Stars scholarship award recipients will be announced at the 22nd annual Shooting Stars Gala at the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art and Yardley Hall, Johnson County Community College on April 7, 2019.
Since its founding, the Shooting Stars program has awarded more than $400,000 in college scholarships and $65,000 in teacher honorariums. At the Shooting Stars Gala on April 7,2019, nine first place scholarships of $1,400 each, nine second place scholarships of $700 each and nine teacher honorariums of $350 each will be awarded. The program is supported by Johnson County and area foundations, corporations and individual donors.
Students are nominated by their Arts teachers for this recognition. Arts teachers from schools throughout Johnson County are invited to nominate students each year. Students who live in Johnson County but attend school outside of the county also may be nominated by their Arts teachers.