Students from 10 Kansas high schools were honored Nov. 2 by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.
A total of 305 seniors from high schools in Johnson County were recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a program and reception at Gardner Edgerton High School.
The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.
The Class of 2017 scholars:
Gardner Edgerton High School
Cassidy Androff, Katelyn Ayala, Madison Beard, Brooke Boyer, Kayla Burcham, Jacob Casey, Madison Choate, Kiley Collier, Kristen Copple, Joseph Corbin, Ashley Crabbs, Heather Culbertson, Sydney Deitz, Brent Doerflinger, Lauren Haag, Faith Ann Keffer, David Kiker, Nathan Kranzler, Lindy Maska, Jesse May, Natalie Mullin, Katherine Newburg, Jonas Pippitt, Kersten Postel, Kristin Salazar, Dylan Schneider, Codi Shanks, Bailey Sprague, Logan Turner, Sarah Ulmer, Aaron VanVleet, Eden Weyand, Kirsten Whitnah, Marvy Whittaker, Spencer Williams, Benjamin Wyss, Jacob Zink
Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.
During the ceremony, each student receives a Webster’s New College Dictionary.
David Johnston, vice president of marketing and digital media at the KU Alumni Association, spoke to the students and their parents and guests.
Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Mark and Elaine Corder, Olathe, serve as Johnson County coordinators. Elaine Vallejos, Olathe, is the site coordinator and Johnson County coordinator.