Filing deadline for candidates for the upcoming election was June 1. Primary election date is Aug. 2, and general election will be Nov. 8.
As of there were 384,099 registered voters in Johnson County, according to the Johnson County Election office.
Below is the unofficial candidate list for local elections. A complete candidate list can be found on the election office’s website
In local races
Senate District 9
Chris Morrow, D, Gardner; Julia Lynn, R, Olathe, incumbent
Senate District 37
Kevin King, D, Gardner; Molly Baumgartner, R, Louisburg, incumbent
State Representative District 38
Mike Fonkert, D, Basehor; Willie Dove , R, incumbent; Nathan Lucas, R, Basehor; Mitra Templin, R, DeSoto
State Representative District 43
Donald Roberts, R, Edgerton; Bill Sutton, R, incumbent
Deadline to register to vote is July 12. Advance voting by mail begins July 13, and advance voting in person begins July 18, 14 days prior to the election on Aug. 1. Complete information can be found at
The deadline to switch party affiliation has passed, according to the Johnson County election website. According to Kansas law, from noon on June 1 through Aug. 31, 2016, anyone affiliated with the Democratic, Republican, or Libertarian party may not switch to another party or elect to become unaffiliated. To change political affiliation after the August primary election, another voter registration application must be submitted after Sept. 1.