The Spring Hill Police Department received a Gold award during the March city council meeting. Pictured are: L-R Bob Hamilton, KDOT; Assistant Chief Brian Holmes; Jim Hanni, AAA; Chief Richard Mann. Photo courtesy of the Spring Hill Police Department

The Spring Hill Police Department is one of only 23 Kansas police departments to qualify for a 2015 AAA award and received the gold award during the March council meeting.
The Spring Hill Police department was recently presented the first gold 2015 AAA Kansas Traffic Safety Award by Jim Hanni, AAA Spokesperson, who recognized Chief Mann and the department for their efforts in traffic safety. The award program is designed to encourage communities to address local traffic safety issues in a coordinated and cost-effective way.
The Spring Hill PD was recognized for having a community-based traffic safety committee that identifies traffic safety problems & formulates solutions. The department was recognized for participating in the highly successful Kansas teen seatbelt usage program, called SAFE as well as their CIOT enforcement efforts and for school zone speed signs with flashing lights & zone times.
Spring Hill Police Dept. was awarded its very first AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Award, at the GOLD Award leve lfor demonstrating superior efforts in addressing local traffic safety issues.
Superior efforts translate into results:
• Adult seat belt use has risen from 86 percent to 92 percent in three years;
• Teen seat belt use has risen from 85 percent to 92 percent;
• Child passenger safety seat use from 82 percent to 95 percent;
• Accordingly, teen crashes have dropped from 29 in 2010 to 19 in 2014;
• and alcohol crashes have dropped from 4 to zero over the same time period