Photo courtesy of Congressman Mike Pompeo’s office

VFW Post 8 members Hank F. Deters, commander, and Thomas M. Hutton, quartermaster, were in Washington D.C. this month. Deters and Hutton earned the 2015-2016 Early Bird Legislative Trip Award , which included a $1,000 stipend , according to a congratulatory letter on behalf of VFW Commander-in-Chief John Biedrzycki Jr. The VFW Legislative Conference March 1 agenda included meetings with Congressman Tim Huelskamp (KS-1), Kevin Yoder (KS-03), Senator Pat Roberts (KS- )and Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins (KS-02).