The Southwestern College Educators Hall of Fame and Scholars Hall of Fame will induct new members on Saturday, April 18, in Deets Library.  A reception will be held at 3:30 p.m. with the induction ceremony following at 4 p.m.
Cheryl (Bernard) Schasteen, Gardner, will enter the Educators Hall of Fame.  Also joining the hall of fame are Gyla (Brock) Conklin, Hugoton, and Kenneth Valentine, Douglass.
The two inductees into the Scholars Hall of Fame are Dale Sims, Grand Prairie, Texas, and Philip Schmidt (deceased).
Following the ceremony, the Founders Day dinner will be held at 6 p.m.  The dinner is by invitation only.
Cheryl (Bernard) Schasteen has been an active teacher and leader since she graduated from Southwestern in 1971. She has taught fifth grade in LaCygne (1971-74), learning disabilities in Gardner-Edgerton District 231 (1974-1989), first grade at Edgerton Elementary (1989-2012), and kindergarten at Wellsville Elementary (2012-2014). During this time she served on numerous Gardner-Edgerton district committees, chairing the math and reading committees. She also served as a state-level QPA resource person, and was selected as USD 231 representative to the Metropolitan Instructional Leadership Program with the Kauffman Foundation of Kansas City. A state math outcomes instructor for district in-service training, she helped develop and pilot common core math and reading curricula in two schools.
For more information about Founders Day weekend at Southwestern College, contact Susan Lowe, director of alumni programs at Southwestern, at (620) 229-6334.
Southwestern College is a private institution granting undergraduate and graduate degrees and is affiliated with the United Methodist Church.  About 1,700 students attend classes at the main Winfield campus, at six professional studies sites in Kansas and Oklahoma, or online around the world.