Recently elected county commissioners will be sworn into office on Monday, Jan. 12. Chief Judge Kevin Moriarity will swear in Ron Shaffer, who was elected to represent Johnson County’s first district on the commission. Moriarity will also do the honors for county chair Ed Eilert, fourth district commissioner Jason Osterhaus, Overland Park; and fifth district commissioner Michael Ashcraft, Olathe. The trio were re-elected in November.
In addition to that ceremony, the county will host a farewell reception for first district commission Ed Peterson on Jan. 8. Peterson served on the board of county commissioners for 12 years, representing the northeast portion of the county. He entered office in 2003.
The farewell reception will be from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. on Jan. 8 at the Johnson County Administration Building, room 201. The swearing-in ceremony will be from 9 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Jan. 12 in the board hearing room at the administration building.
Shaffer has served as the mayor of Prairie Village, Kan. since 1999. Prior to that, he represented Ward 1 on the Prairie Village City Council from 1989 to 1999. Shaffer is principal of his architectural firm, RLS Architects.
Commissioner Peterson was first elected to the commission in 2002 and sworn into office in 2003. Peterson served as mayor of Fairway from 1993 to 2002, and as a member of the Fairway City Council from 1988 to1993. As a partner with the Finnegan, Conrad and Peterson law firm in Kansas City, Mo., he specializes in public utility law, civil litigation and estate planning and probate work.