In a “tapping” ceremony in front of the entire Spring Hill High School student body on earlier this month, officers of National Honor Society (NHS) named its newest members. More than 40 candidates were officially inducted into the organization at a candlelight ceremony on Nov. 6.
The new members include: Parker Allred, Rebekah Anderson, Ellisa Bragaw, Kalyn Denton, Amber Dietrich, Ben Dyhouse, Emily Frank, Carver Gerstberger, Emily Girrens, Alyssa Hannon, Ramsey Hastings, Madeline Herrs, Jamie Hoffman, Colton Hrabe, Rebecca Johnson, Hailey Jones, Theodore Jones, Makayla Kosberg, Abby Krull, Rachel Letellier, Anna Long, Katherine Lundy, Ethan Martin, Colin McCormick, Mallory Meek, Sydnee Mounce, Emily Nemer, Lauren Oberkrom, Sophie Peterson, LeeAnna Peirce, Jessica Pollom, Lauren Pope, Samantha Rossmeisl, Mikayla Smith, Kylie Sprague, Braeden Towles, Rachel Vogelmeier, Jonny Wagner, Cordy Wesonig, Charity Wright and Parker Yust.
At the high school level, election to NHS is the highest honor a student can earn. National Honor Society recognizes superior achievement in four areas, including scholarship, leadership, character, and service.  Selection to NHS at Spring Hill High School has been the school’s highest and most distinct honor since 1965.
To be eligible for NHS, students must have a 3.6 grade point average on a 4.0 scale as well as have proven leadership roles, performed community service and shown good character. Eligible students were required to fill out an extensive application, including writing an essay on why they would like to be a part of NHS.