The Spring Hill Education Foundation proudly announced the 10 winners of its scholarship program during the organization’s 18th Annual Golf Tournament. With the support of school board members, patrons and businesses, the foundation has provided more than $120,000 in scholarships to Spring Hill High School graduates who excel in academics, community service and leadership.
Each year, 10 seniors are chosen to receive $1,500 scholarships to apply toward higher education. This year’s winners include Dalton Young, Alex Kaechele, Trevor Splichal, Megan Hobson, Serena Hoffman, Erica Holmes, Lincoln Smith, Lizzy Atwell, Rachel Hadel, and Polet Reyes.
The primary source of funding for the scholarship program is the Spring Hill Education Foundation Golf Tournament, which began in 1997. Since the opening of the award-winning Sycamore Ridge Golf Course in 2000, this annual event has enjoyed local tournament play at the course. This year, the 18th annual tournament was held on May 5,  and 100 golfers took to the course. In addition, corporate and hole sponsorships plus a silent auction led to profits that will be utilized for future scholarships.