Two more states will recognize Kansas concealed carry licenses, Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt announced last week.
Virginia and Washington now recognize Kansas-issued permits bringing the number of states that recognize Kansas licenses to 36. At the start of 2011, only 24 states offered reciprocity.
A law passed last year by the Kansas Legislature, recommended by Attorney General Schmidt, allows all valid out-of-state permits to be recognized in Kansas when the non-resident permit holder is traveling temporarily in Kansas. As a result of this law, many states that require their permits to be recognized in Kansas before reciprocally recognizing Kansas permits have now done so.
A complete list of states that recognized the Kansas concealed carry license is available on the Attorney General’s website at
There are currently 80,810 active concealed carry license holders in Kansas.