poll worker

Election worker Frances Hutton, Gardner, awaits voters from her post at the American Legion. By midday, workers at one polling place said approximately 10 percent of local voters had already cast ballots. Staff photo by Danedri Thompson

Danedri Thompson
Gardner will have a new mayor soon.
In a tight race, Gardner voters selected council vice president Chris Morrow over incumbent Mayor Dave Drovetta on April 2.
Less than 2,000 voters, or 1,968 people, cast ballots in the race. More than half of those – 1,022, cast votes for Morrow. Drovetta received 946 votes, or approximately 49 percent of the vote.
Morrow said his first order of business will be to meet with council members, citizens and business owners to determine what they hope to accomplish in the next four years.
“It’s gratifying to win especially when your priorities have been set by the conversations you’ve had with people in the community,” he said.
Also on Morrow’s to-do list: Appointing someone to replace him on the council.
He said he would like to take input from council members, accept applications and create a team of people who will help determine his replacement.
Morrow’s replacement will join newcomer Steve Shute, who was elected to the council Tuesday night. Council president Kristina Harrison retained her seat.
The race for Edgerton mayor was uncontested, and incumbent Don Roberts will return to the role for a second term. Heidi Wiseman was also re-elected to the council.
In Spring Hill, long-time council member Steve Ellis won the mayorship. Ellis ran unopposed. He will replace Mayor Mark Squire, who served for more than 15 years in the role.
Spring Hill council member Chris Leaton retained his seat on the council. He will be joined there by newcomer Chad Eckert.
Newcomers Shelta Collins, Brad Chandler and Rob Shippy won seats on the USD 231 school board. None of the incumbents filed for re-election in the hotly-contested school board races.
In Spring Hill School District races, Eric Boyle defeated Max Strausbaugh to retain a seat on the board of education. Sharon Mitchell also won a seat in a contested race. Jason Winboldt ran unopposed.