Madeline Griffin, a resident of Spring Hill and a senior at Prairie View High School, is among seniors from six area high schools who will be honored Feb. 20 by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.
A total of 53 seniors from high schools in Linn and Miami counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at Osawatomie High School, 1200 Trojan Drive, Osawatomie.
Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 117,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 37 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include more than 360 high schools.