Kansas’ six presidential electors met in Topeka on Dec. 17 to cast their votes for president and vice president of the United States.
After tabulating ballots, Secretary of State Kris Kobach announced that Republican Presidential nominee Mitt Romney and Vice Presidential nominee Paul Ryan received Kansas’ six votes.
“The drafters of the United States Constitution chose the electoral college system purposefully as the best means of selecting the president,” Kobach said. “It remains one of the most significant features of our Constitution ensuring the importance of the sovereign states in the choosing of our president.”
Prior to the November presidential election, each political party recognized in Kansas and each team of independent candidates for president and vice president that successfully petitioned for ballot access chooses a slate of six electors. Each state is apportioned a number of presidential electors equal to its total representation in the U.S. Congress. Kansas has six electors because it has four U.S. Representatives and two U.S. Senators.
After the November election results are certified by the state board of canvassers, the secretary of state sends a certificate of election to each elector representing the party whose candidate won the statewide popular vote.
This year the Republican candidates for president and vice president won the popular vote in Kansas, so the Republican electors are chosen to cast the state’s official votes for president and vice president.
Kansas’ Republican electors include Randy Duncan, Kelly Arnold, the vice chair of the Kansas Republican Party; Amanda Adkins, chair of the state Republican Party; Helen Vanetten, state committee woman; Lt. Gov. Jeff Colyer; and state committeeman, Todd Tiahrt.
Whereas electors in about 27 states are bound to cast their vote for a specific candidate by state law or by pledges to their political parties, electors in Kansas are not bound to cast their vote for a specific candidate.
After the meeting of the electors, Kobach certified the results of the vote to the president of the U. S. Senate, who is also the vice president of the United States, and to the U.S. Archivist.
The electoral votes from all states will be counted in a joint session of Congress on Jan. 7, 2013.
When one pair of president and vice president candidates receives a majority of the nation’s electoral votes – 270 – they are deemed elected.
President Obama and Vice President Joe Biden will be inaugurated at noon on Jan. 21.