Republican Bill Sutton will face off with Democrat Kevin King in the general election to replace long time representative Mike Kiegerl (R-Olathe).
Sutton edged out Republican challenger Dan Thompson in the primary.
In the 37th Disitrict, Pat Apple, won with 630 votes against changers Charlotte O’Hara, 512 and Daniel B. Campbell, 65.
In the 9th Senate District Julia Lynn earned 1354 votes. She will face Merlin D. Ring in the general election. He earned 353 votes in the primary.
Frank Denning will retain his role as county sheriff after narrowly defeating Ken Smith in the primary. There is no Democratic challenger in that race.