During the Fourth of July Holiday week, deputies from the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office will be keeping a watchful eye out for those who might be celebrating Independence Day with a little too much flare.
With the Fourth of July holiday quickly approaching, the sheriff’s office would like to remind everyone that deputies will be enforcing the ban on the use of fireworks in unincorporated Johnson County.  According to county regulations, fireworks including sparklers are illegal without a permit in all unincorporated areas of Johnson County.  Persons caught using or selling fireworks will be subject to fines from $25 up to $100.
De Soto, Kan. – Inside the city limits of De Soto on July 2and July 3 from the hours of 10:00 am till 10:00 pm and also on July 4from 10 a.m. until midnight, city ordinance 7-303 allows the use of all fireworks except bottle rockets.
Edgerton, Kan. – Fireworks are allowed inside the city limits of Edgerton on July 3from 10 a.m. until 10 p.m. and on Fourth of July from 10 a.m. until midnight on private property according to Edgerton City Regulation 7-303.