Danedri Thompson
[email protected]
Although primary election dates may change and political boundaries continue to hang in the balance, the candidates for county races are set. There will be a primary race for Johnson County sheriff and for one seat on the Johnson County Board of Commissioners.
Incumbent Frank Denning, sheriff, will face Ken Smith, a Mission police officer. Both Republicans, the winner of the primary race will not face a Democratic opponent in the general election.
According to his website, Denning has worked in law enforcement for more than 35 years. He served as Roeland Park Chief of Police in 1996 and was appointed to county undersheriff in 2002. He was elected Sheriff in 2004 and re-elected in 2008.
Smith ran unsuccessfully for the role in 2008. He is a Marine Corps veteran and holds a Masters Degree from Benedictine College.
There are four candidates vying to replace David Lindstrom on the Board of County Commissioners. Lindstrom, who represents Spring Hill, Stilwell and parts of Olathe and Overland Park, announced he would not seek re-election earlier this year.
The candidates for Lindstrom’s seat  include:
Benjamin Hodge, a former House member. Hodge also served on the Johnson County Community College Board of Trustees.
Steve Klika, a member of the Blue Valley School Board.
Michael Lally, a former Overland Park City Council member.
Terry Presta, a former state legislator from western Kansas and original owner of Presto convenience stores.
The sheriff primary will coincide with statewide elections scheduled for Aug. 7. However, that date could change depending on when a trio of federal judges determines state political boundaries.
The county commission primary will be on Aug. 7 as specified in the Johnson County Charter.
There won’t be a primary for the sixth district county commission seat, but two familiar names will vie for the seat in the general election. The sixth district includes Gardner, Edgerton, De Soto and part of Olathe.
Incumbent Calvin Hayden faces former county commissioner John Toplikar. Hayden narrowly defeated then-incumbent Toplikar for the seat in 2008.