Bart Goering

Bart Goering, the Spring Hill School District Superintendent, has been selected to participate in the 2012 Leadership Kansas class. Leadership Kansas is a nationally recognized program that aims to develop and motivate future leaders in the state.
An affiliated program of the Kansas Chamber, Leadership Kansas is one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country. Leadership Kansas is entering its 34th year of educating and motivating leaders from all four corners of the state. The program remains committed to its original mission to inspire persons to maintain involvement in the social, business and political fabric of Kansas communities.
“The Kansas Chamber is proud to be the sponsoring entity of the Leadership Kansas program, which fosters greater awareness and understanding of statewide business, political and social issues. Leadership Kansas helps develop our state leaders to make Kansas the best place in America in which to do business,” said Kansas Chamber President and CEO Kent Beisner (Class of ’83).
Each year, close to 600 people are nominated to apply for the program. Upon the conclusion of a thorough and thoughtful application and selection process, 40 individuals are selected to participate in the class. Leadership Kansas makes every effort to ensure geographic, racial, occupational, and gender diversity so that each class is truly representative of the state. The class of 2012 was approved by the Leadership Kansas Board of Trustees, chaired by Brenda Dietrich (Class of ’05). John Federico (Class of ’97) serves as the Executive Director of Leadership Kansas.
Throughout the six-month program, the 40 members of the class are exposed to a variety of experts and educational 3-day training sessions in six different Kansas communities. The diverse discussion topics include: business; education; agriculture; public policy; societal health and development; economics; and government.

“Graduates of the Leadership Kansas program leave with an extensive education of our state and more equipped to shoulder important leadership responsibilities in their communities and careers,” Dietrich states.
The host cities for this year’s program are Garden City, Kansas City Metro, Manhattan/Junction City, Hutchinson/Wichita, Hays, and Topeka. Distinguished Leadership Kansas alumni include: Former Governor Bill Graves; Andy Tompkins, CEO & President of the Kansas Board of Regents; C.Q. Chandler IV, President of INTRUST Bank; Insurance Commissioner Sandy Praeger; CEO of the Kroger Company David Dillon; Spirit Aerosystems President & CEO Jeff Turner; Murfin Drilling Company, Inc. President Dave Murfin; U.S. Senator Jerry Moran and U.S. Representative Kevin Yoder, among others.