David Lindstrom, who represents Spring Hill on the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners, announced today that he will not seek re-election.
He made his announcement during the board’s weekly business session on Jan. 26.
“Ten years is enough for my public service as a county commissioner. I need to move on and somebody fresh needs to move in,” Lindstrom said.
Initially, Lindstrom joined the commission as an appointment in 2003, filling a two-year unexpired term created by implementation of the county’s charter. He was elected to a four-year term in 2004 and re-elected in 2008.
“The decision to step aside at this time did not come lightly. But in the end, Mary and I decided now was the right time to begin the next chapter in our lives,” he said. “We are truly blessed to have our health, our family, and so many, many friends and we look forward to spending more time with them. We plan to find other ways to continue to serve our community in the future.”
Jason Osterhaus, Fourth District Commissioner, said he was surprised by the announcement.
“I think we were all surprised,” Osterhaus said. “We operated under the assumption he was running again.”
In addition to Lindstrom’s seat, voters in the Sixth, which includes Gardner and Edgerton, and the Second Districts, will elect commissioners in 2012. Calvin Hayden, De Soto, currently represents the Sixth District and Jim Allen, Shawnee, represents the Second.
To date, no candidates have filed to run for county commission. The filing deadline is June 1.
— Danedri Thompson