OLATHE – Sheriff Frank Denning presented nine deputies with life saving awards during a Recognition and Badge Pinning Ceremony on Nov. 17. Denning also presented Formal Recognitions, Unit Citations and Awards of Merit along with several additional special recognitions for deputies, volunteers and civilians.
Life Saving Awards were presented to: Lieutenant Don Bowers, Sergeant Brent Moore, Master Deputies Cory Neal, Greg Smith, Chris Pechnik and Deputies Scott Serpan, Ryan Garcia, Chris Gaulter and Tim VanDellen.
Detective Scott Atwell was presented with the Sheriff Fred Allenbrand Award of Excellence, the highest honor in the sheriff’s office for his years of dedicated service to Johnson County Sheriff’s Office, the Johnson County community and his fellow officers. Detective Atwell was praised for his abilities to solve crimes through “old fashioned police work” which he demonstrated time and time again throughout his tenure with the Sheriff’s Office.
Sheriff Denning presented Master Deputy Alison Anderson with the Deputy of the Year Award for her work on the Take Me Home Project initiative. The project allows residents to register loved ones who may have difficulty communicating due to a developmental or cognitive disability with the Sheriff’s Office to assist in a speedy return home should they become lost or have contact with law enforcement. The Take Me Home Project was realized after months of research and planning in late summer of 2010. Master Deputy Anderson through her work and dedication to this program has positively impacted the lives of hundreds of the most vulnerable population and their loved ones in the Johnson County community.
The Civilian of the year award was presented to Senior Specialist Linda Cowan for her attention to detail, knowledge and professionalism which is routinely called upon by supervisors and outside agencies to assist with prisoner movement and accountability.
Formal recognition was given to: Master Deputies David Polson and Perry Williams and Criminalistics Laboratory Director Gary Howell.
Unit Citations were presented to the Communications Unit and the Criminalistics Laboratory Latent Print Section.
Special Recognition was also given to Major Brett Cortright, Captain Mike Marshall, Lieutenants Charles Lawhead and Don Bowers, Master Deputy Perry Williams and Deputy Jason Weese.
Volunteer Recognition Awards were presented to Larry Coffin and Larry Retherford.
In addition, three new deputies, Jennifer Barlow, Wanda Corley and Kyle Speichinger were formally presented with their badges during the badge pinning portion of the ceremony.