Bragging rights are not the only thing on the line in the annual Kansas Soybean Yield and Quality Contests this fall.
Thanks to the Kansas Soybean Commission, the highest dryland and irrigated yields in the state each will receive a $1,000 award; and in each district, first place will win $300, second will earn $200, and third will receive $100. No-Till on the Plains will supply additional awards for the no-till districts.
Managed by the Kansas Soybean Association (KSA), the contests are open to anyone involved in farming, but there is a limit of only one entry per field. Farmers may enter multiple categories – conventional or no-till, dry land or irrigated. All entries must be entered in the same district, however.
New this year, KSA has created a south-central contest district and divided the former “big west” into southwest and northwest districts. Additionally, farmers now may enter the quality contest without entering the yield contest.
A complete set of rules is available on the Kansas Soybean website (, from the Kansas Soybean office (877-KS-SOYBEAN) and in county Extension offices statewide.
K-State Research and Extension also is a contest sponsor. Gary Kilgore, an emeritus professor of agronomy, coordinates the project.