Topeka – Kansas Governor Sam Brownback signed a State of Disaster Emergency Proclamation June 30 for an additional seven counties for damages from severe storms, flooding, flash flooding, hail, tornadoes and lightning that began June 1 and continues.
The counties added to the Emergency Proclamation are Chase, Coffey, Graham, Kiowa, Ness, Wallace and Wyandotte Counties.
“This declaration opens the door for the state to assist the counties and to potentially request federal help, depending on the results of the damage assessments.  We will do what we can to help them get back on their feet,” Brownback said.
The initial emergency proclamation signed on June 3 by the governor included Atchison, Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Ellsworth, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Marshall, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Russell, Saline, Shawnee and Smith Counties.
The governor issued the proclamation under the authority granted by the Kansas Emergency Management Act.
Answers for Kansans with flood-related questions can be found at  Those with special needs should call *211 to register with The United Way so any additional assistance can be provided if needed.
Flood and evacuation information is available at  and