Danedri Thompson
[email protected]
There will be a few new faces on the Spring Hill Board of Education come April. One face, however, will be notably absent.
Bill Meek, who has been a fixture on the board since 1983, will not seek re-election. And his tenure on the board has included stints as president of
Kansas Association of School Boards, Chairman of the Johnson County Area Vocational School’s Board of Control, member of the Johnson County Community College’s Vocational Advisory Board, member of the National School Boards Associations policies committee and member of the Governor’s Commission on School-to-Work Transition.
Seeking to replace Meek are two newcomers — John Carr and Brent Hoffman.
They vie to represent residents of approximately the northeast geographic half of the sprawling district. It includes everything east of Woodland and a few pockets west of it as well as half of the district north of 215th Street and everything north of 191st Street.
Scott Oberkrom also will not seek election. Oberkrom was appointed to the board to fill the remainder of previous board member Eric Valaika. Douglas J. Updike will appear unopposed on the April 5 ballot.
In other races, Nels Anderson, current board president, will run unopposed as will Chuck Willis, in an at-large race.
The seven member board is responsible for making future planning and financial decisions for the Spring Hill School District.
The general election is April 5.