Rep. Jene Vickrey was elected to leadership in the Kansas House of Representatives earlier this week. Vickrey represents portions of Spring Hill in the state legislature.
Vickrey was named Speaker Pro Tem in a five way race. He narrowly defeated Rep. Anthony Brown of Eudora 47-43 after several rounds of tallying.
A Louisburg Republican, Vickrey replaces Rep. Arlen Siegfried of Olathe. In the statehouse shuffle, Siegfried replaced Rep. Ray Merrick, now state Sen. Merrick, as House Majority Leader.
Merrick will replace Lt. Gov.-elect Jeff Colyer in the Kansas Senate.
Meanwhile, appointee Charlotte O’Hara replaces Merrick in the Kansas House of Representatives.
The Kansas Legislature 2011 session opens in January.