New faces on county commission
There will be at least one new face on the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners come January. One familiar face will be absent, and a third seat is still up for grabs as election officials tally provisional ballots following Tuesday’s election.
Gardner, Edgerton and Spring Hill voters did not elect a representative to the board on Nov. 2. Spring Hill is represented by David Lindstrom. Gardner and Edgerton are represented by Calvin Hayden. Both seats will be up for grabs in 2012.
Voters in both districts did cast ballots in the county wide race for Commission Chair helping to elect Ed Eilert, former mayor of Overland Park and sitting commissioner, to the chair, ousting the only commission chair Johnson County has ever known — Annabeth Surbaugh.
Doug Wood, who represented Spring Hill prior to a revision in district boundary lines, may lose his seat on the commission. Wood faced Michael Ashcraft in a race to represent Johnson County District No. 5, which includes most of Olathe. The race is too close to call. Ashcraft leads by 85 votes, however, there are more than 400 provisional ballots outstanding in the race.
Newcomers Jason Osterhaus will replace Eilert on the commission. He defeated Shawnee Mission School Board member Larry Winn, III. Osterhaus received 52.6 percent of the vote.
Incumbent Ed Peterson of Fairway sailed to re-election in the 1st Commission District. He defeated Roland Park City Council member Robert Meyers winning more than 62 percent of the vote.
The Johnson County Board of Commissioners meets on Thursdays in Olathe. Their meetings can be viewed live online at
Kiegerl, Vickrey retain seats
Rep. Mike Kiegerl will continue to represent Gardner, Edgerton and part of Spring Hill in the statehouse next January. Kiegerl, a Republican from Olathe, defended his seat against Kevin King, a Democrat from Gardner.
Rep. Jene Vickrey, who represents the Miami County portion of Spring Hill ran unopposed.
New SH connection in statehouse
It was an exciting election night for Spring Hill City Council member Chris Leaton. Although Leaton wasn’t on the ballot, another close family member was.
His sister, Kelly Meigs, won a seat in the Kansas House of Representatives Tuesday night.
Meigs, a Republican from Lenexa, beat Democrat Bryan Cox with 63 percent of the vote. She beat Republican incumbent Jill Quigley during a hard-fought primary in January.
— Danedri Thompson