Johnson County Commission Chair candidates reported more than $100,000 of cash on hand on the July 26 filing deadline. Current Chair Annabeth Surbaugh has almost twice the amount of campaign funding as her nearest fundraising competitor – Commissioner Ed Eilert.
At the time of filing, Surbaugh had than $67,000 on hand. Eilert reported more than $35,000 on hand.
Their competitors, former Commissioner John Segale and fomer Commissioner John Toplikar reported substantially less cash on hand heading into the Aug. 3 primary. Segale reported $300 and Toplikar reported $837.
Very few of the funds raised for the commissioner’s chair were donated from residents of Gardner, Edgerton or Spring Hill.
Claud Hobby, Edgerton, donated $100 to Surbaugh’s campaign. Ron Stiles, a Miami County Commissioner from Spring Hill, also donated $100 to Surbaugh’s campaign. Pam and Rod Richardson of Spring Hill each donated $250 to Surbaugh as well.
E.D. and J. Lathrum, Gardner, donated $20 to Toplikar. Linda Meisinger, Gardner, donated $100 to Toplikar and Rob and Joan Shippee donated $50 to Toplikar.
The Johnson County Election Office is in the process of posting all campaign finance reports online. However, the most recent reports can only be viewed at the election office in Olathe.
The race for Johnson County Commission Chair is a non-partisan race. The top-two finishers in the Aug. 3 primary will advance to the general election in November.
— Danedri Thompson