February 13, 2016

Committee forwards Congressional redistricting map to House

A House redistricting committee narrowly passed a Congressional redistricting map that lumps parts of Wyandotte and Leavenworth Counties with the vast First Congressional District, which includes all of western Kansas.
House Speaker Mike O’Neal, R-Hutchinson, cast the tie-breaking vote to send the redistricting map, which he created, forward to the House.
Under the proposed map, Johnson and Douglas Counties would continue to be part of the Third Congressional District, currently represented by Rep. Kevin Yoder.
The Kansas Legislature is tasked with reapportionment every 10 years. The 2010 U.S. Census numbers revealed that Kansas’ First Congressional District, currently represented by Rep. Tim Huelskamp, is 58,000 people short of the ideal population. Meanwhile the Third District, which today includes Wyandotte and Johnson Counties as well as parts of Leavenworth and Douglas Counties, is overpopulated by approximately 54,000 people.

Comments do not necessarily reflect those of The Gardner News, or staff. By posting, commentators assume all liability. Please contact webmaster to report comments that infringe on copyrights, or are of a profane or libelous nature. Webmaster reserves the right to edit or remove content deemed offensive.


Speak Your Mind