April 18, 2014

Five Blazers make District I Championship Tournament

Gardner Edgerton High School  senior Dustin Williams  won the 160-pound division for Kansas vs. Missouri in the 2104 Metro Classic at Kansas City Kansas Community College March 11. Photo courtesy of Shonda Burger

Five Blazers advanced to the District I Olathe East Championship tournament after posting qualifying marks at the sub-district tourney, March 16.
The Blazers were competing for the East Kansas Wrestling Club. Earning a gold medal in the 160-pound division was …

Broncos optimistic about baseball season

The Spring Hill High School baseball squad lost Zach Girrens, a pitcher and first baseman; Luke Johnson, a pitcher and short stop; and left fielder Corey Spader to graduation last year, but a strong group of underclassmen have given coach …

Lady Blazer track season begins at SMS Invitational

Despite the loss of Cassie Wait and Danie Plank, GEHS veteran coach Larry Ward remains optimistic about the upcoming track season.
A year ago, Wait set a state record pole vault of 13’2” and Plank won her fourth straight state …

Kids do art to sponsor Ethiopian school kids

Kalyn Willingham, 7; Preston Graber, 8; Makenna Graber, 5; and Naomi Graber, 6; all of Gardner, pose with art projects they sold to raise money to sponsor school children in Ethiopia. Staff photo by Danedri Thompson

Danedri Thompson
Shonda Dietz’ passion for a Lifesong project to build a school and sponsor children in Ethiopia is contagious, especially to children.
Four local students have caught the bug, raising money to help build a school and sponsor …

Edgerton Elementary to dedicate recess cart

Joyce Higginbotham

Charlie Troutner
Special to The Gardner News
Edgerton Elementary School is planning on honoring long-time teacher’s aide, Joyce Higginbotham.
Higginbotham, who passed away at age 62 on Feb. 23, worked at Edgerton Elementary for more than 25 years. One of …

Court orders state of Kansas to increase school funding by July 1

Danedri Thompson
In a unanimous decision, the Kansas Supreme Court ordered the state of Kansas to provide additional funding to public education. The court ruled that the state’s current base state funding, $3,838 per weighted pupil, is not adequate.…

USD 231 pays board member for some services

Debbie Hickman
Special to The Gardner News
More than $61,000 paid to J.R. Electric – a company linked to James Repshire, board member – is disclosed on the USD 231 audit. The audit also indicates Repshire was not involved in …

State representative files complaint against USD 231 school attorney

Bill Sutton

Danedri Thompson
Rep. Bill Sutton, R-Gardner, is requesting that the Kansas Disciplinary Administrator investigate USD 231 board of education attorney W. Joseph Hatley.
The Kansas Disciplinary Administrator’s Office is a state agency in the judicial branch working under the …

Board releases official statement on firing of administrators

Danedri Thompson


The Gardner Edgerton School Board released its official statement on the terminations of former administrators Bill Gilhaus, Lana Gerber and Christy Ziegler.

Board members voted to release a statement about the terminations during a March 10 board …

FBI interview USD 231 administrators

Debbie Hickman & Danedri Thompson
Federal agents visited with USD 231 administrators, including interim-superintendent Pam Stranathan on March 11. A U.S. Department of Justice official and an official from the Kansas Department of Education signed in as guests at …